Skip to main content

Excerpt Tour: Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay by Jill Mansell







Title: Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay

Author: Jill Mansell
Pub Date: May 2, 2017


International bestseller Jill Mansell weaves a heartwarming tale of love, family and friendship in her latest novel


1. A brief encounter that could have become so much more…if only everything were different
2. Step-sisters, bitter rivals in every area except one—by unbreakable pact neither will ever steal a man from the other
3. A love triangle that starts out as a mess of secrets and mix-ups, and only gets worse from there


Plus!
Friendship, family ties, crossed wires and self-discovery, second chances and first impressions


Welcome to Jill Mansell’s blustery seaside world. Once you step inside, you’ll never want to leave!


With over 10 million copies sold, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell writes irresistible and funny, poignant and romantic tales for women in the tradition of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Jojo Moyes. She lives with her partner and their children in Bristol, England.








GIVEAWAY
Jill Mansell book bundle and a British summer tumbler










EXCERPT
Wild guess,” said Ronan. “That was Belle.”
“She’s coming down tomorrow. Flying down tomorrow,” Clemency amended, to let him know that they should both be suitably impressed. “With her fabulous new boyfriend. I expect she wants to make you jealous.”
When he’d first arrived in St. Carys, Belle had developed quite the crush on Ronan; she’d been very keen to get to know him better. Her interest in him might not have been returned, but it had certainly provided Clemency with endless hours of entertainment.
“Hmm. Well, if she’s got herself a boyfriend, I should be safe.” Ronan indicated the notes she’d scribbled on a paper napkin. “What’s he after?”
She told him, and between them, they began drawing up a list of potential properties that might fit the bill for Belle’s rich new boyfriend. Clemency ate her pavlova ice cream and, when it was all gone, dunked the pointy end of the waffle cone into her cappuccino, because she knew it drove Ronan mad when she did that.
He shook his head in disbelief. “You’re revolting.”
Clemency beamed as she bit the soggy end off the cone. “I know.”
The vacationing family of four left the café with their finished portrait, and Marina packed up her easel and art equipment for the day. She paused at Clemency and Ronan’s table and tut-tutted good-naturedly. “Are you two still working? Mind you don’t burn yourselves out.”
“Says the woman who never stops,” Clemency reminded her. “How many have you sold today?”
“Nine. It’s been good.” Marina shifted the large, unwieldy bag on her shoulder. “It doesn’t feel like work when you’re having fun, though, does it?”
Ronan indicated the family now heading away from them as they made their way along the beach. “They seemed really happy with their painting.”
“I know. It’s still a thrill.” Marina smiled at him. “They were lovely people too.”
“And what are you doing tonight?” asked Clemency. “Anything nice?”
“Oh, extremely nice. Poor Alf ’s still getting over his chest infection, so I’m going to be taking Boo out for a walk. And after that, I’m babysitting Ben and Amy.” Marina spread her hands. “So basically, couldn’t be better!”
“You’re like Superwoman,” said Ronan.
And Clemency smiled because it was true—she was. Alf was Marina’s eighty-six-year-old neighbor. Ben and Amy were the hyperactive three-year-old twins who lived with their exhausted parents across the road from Marina’s whitewashed cottage on Harris Street. Here at the café, whenever Paddy and Dee needed an extra pair of hands to help out, Marina was always the first to volunteer. Basically, if anyone was ever in need of a lift, a favor, or a bit of assistance with an overgrown garden, she was more than happy to oblige. In the five years since she’d moved to St. Carys, she’d forged a place for herself in the heart of the community, and her love for the little town and its inhabitants had been returned in full.
“Ah well, how else would I keep myself occupied?” Marina deftly retied the turquoise ribbon that held her auburn hennaed curls away from her face. “Sit and twiddle my thumbs? Anyway, I only do what I want to do. If someone needs a hand with something, it’s nice to be able to help out.”
“There’s such a thing as too nice, though.” Ronan shook his head at her. “Don’t go letting people take advantage.”
“Don’t worry, I’m not a complete pushover.” Her amber eyes sparkled. “I’m a better judge of character now than I used to be, thank God!”
She waved good-bye and left the café. Moments later, they watched as she greeted one of the local hoteliers before crouching down to ruffle the ears of his boisterous, waggy-tailed beagle.
“She’s probably offering to knit the dog a coat,” Ronan observed.
“Seriously, though, why do bad things happen to good people? Whatever happened to karma?”
“Maybe she’s not good. Maybe she’s actually a secret agent, a sinister assassin masquerading as a lovable artist.”
Clemency shook her head. “God, her husband must have been such a bastard to do what he did.”


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Review Post: Fool Me Once by Catherine Bybee

Rating/Review: ☕☕☕☕ 1/2 (4.5 cups, this romantic suspense will give new meaning to The First Wives Club)
You never know what you really would be getting when reading a Catherine Bybee book.  On the outside, each book can definitely hold its own as a great contemporary romance novel.  Read a little bit further, you get well-defined, multilayered characters and a romantic suspense in the making. Pretty soon you will be amazed on the intricate storyline balanced well with the main characters developing romance.  Fool Me Once is definitely a Catherine Bybee book.  The first in her new series, First Wives,  Fool Me Once is also a spinoff from her popular Weekday Bride series.  And yet again, Ms. Bybee delivers in her great characters, well thought out plot and melding her two series together without one overpowering the other.
The story starts out as the head of Alliance and their legal go to person, Lori try to help one of their client who unexpectedly lost her husband.  To get her away …

Release Day: Bohemian by Kathryn Nolan

RATING/REVIEW: ☕☕☕☕ (4 cups of soothing, slow burn romance!)
Bohemian is a modern day love story about two very different people whose common love for the written word brings them together and in the end may drive them apart.  Lucia and Calvin never would have met in the same place except for the presence of The Mad Ones, an old fashioned bookstore found in the beautiful area of Big Sur.  Lucia is a supermodel, at the age of 26 what use to thrill her has been leaving her bored almost.  When a scheduled shoot in an old fashioned bookstore suddenly fans the flames of her love of reading she starts yearning for more.  Calvin inherited The Mad Ones from his beloved grandfather.  His grandfather's love of reading and his lifestyle has always brought joy to a young Calvin but he never really subscribed to that way of life.  When he meets Lucia he might have been starstruck for a bit.  What does a geeky nerd like him have in common with a beautiful woman like her.  When he finds out they …

Blog Tour: Ride With Me by Ashley Hastings: Review plus Giveaway!

RIDE WITH ME by Ashley HastingsPublication Date: April 5, 2018 Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Rating/Review: ☕☕☕ 1/2 (3.5 cups of funny and sweet but sexy romance) Ride with Me pairs up a sexy cop and a sweet nerdy but adorable grad student who spend their time getting to know each other through a ridealong.  But first they had the most unique meet cute involving car chases!  Who can beat that?!  Lucy and Grayson may not appear to be compatible but in Ride with Me they definitely hit the right notes together. Sweet, short and funny, Ride with Me is a lighthearted read that would put a smile in any romance readers face.

BUY NOW!Amazon: https://amzn.to/2Jq6nsq(#FREE with #KindleUnlimited) Paperback: https://amzn.to/2EpsefW


SYNOPSIS:A bad boy cop and a straight-laced student are about to go on the ride of their lives… He’s the law, but she’s the one making the rules. Graduate student Lucy wants order and predictability in her life. She always has a list to consult and a plan to execute. Poli…