Skip to main content

Excerpt Tour: Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay by Jill Mansell







Title: Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay

Author: Jill Mansell
Pub Date: May 2, 2017


International bestseller Jill Mansell weaves a heartwarming tale of love, family and friendship in her latest novel


1. A brief encounter that could have become so much more…if only everything were different
2. Step-sisters, bitter rivals in every area except one—by unbreakable pact neither will ever steal a man from the other
3. A love triangle that starts out as a mess of secrets and mix-ups, and only gets worse from there


Plus!
Friendship, family ties, crossed wires and self-discovery, second chances and first impressions


Welcome to Jill Mansell’s blustery seaside world. Once you step inside, you’ll never want to leave!


With over 10 million copies sold, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell writes irresistible and funny, poignant and romantic tales for women in the tradition of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Jojo Moyes. She lives with her partner and their children in Bristol, England.








GIVEAWAY
Jill Mansell book bundle and a British summer tumbler










EXCERPT
Wild guess,” said Ronan. “That was Belle.”
“She’s coming down tomorrow. Flying down tomorrow,” Clemency amended, to let him know that they should both be suitably impressed. “With her fabulous new boyfriend. I expect she wants to make you jealous.”
When he’d first arrived in St. Carys, Belle had developed quite the crush on Ronan; she’d been very keen to get to know him better. Her interest in him might not have been returned, but it had certainly provided Clemency with endless hours of entertainment.
“Hmm. Well, if she’s got herself a boyfriend, I should be safe.” Ronan indicated the notes she’d scribbled on a paper napkin. “What’s he after?”
She told him, and between them, they began drawing up a list of potential properties that might fit the bill for Belle’s rich new boyfriend. Clemency ate her pavlova ice cream and, when it was all gone, dunked the pointy end of the waffle cone into her cappuccino, because she knew it drove Ronan mad when she did that.
He shook his head in disbelief. “You’re revolting.”
Clemency beamed as she bit the soggy end off the cone. “I know.”
The vacationing family of four left the café with their finished portrait, and Marina packed up her easel and art equipment for the day. She paused at Clemency and Ronan’s table and tut-tutted good-naturedly. “Are you two still working? Mind you don’t burn yourselves out.”
“Says the woman who never stops,” Clemency reminded her. “How many have you sold today?”
“Nine. It’s been good.” Marina shifted the large, unwieldy bag on her shoulder. “It doesn’t feel like work when you’re having fun, though, does it?”
Ronan indicated the family now heading away from them as they made their way along the beach. “They seemed really happy with their painting.”
“I know. It’s still a thrill.” Marina smiled at him. “They were lovely people too.”
“And what are you doing tonight?” asked Clemency. “Anything nice?”
“Oh, extremely nice. Poor Alf ’s still getting over his chest infection, so I’m going to be taking Boo out for a walk. And after that, I’m babysitting Ben and Amy.” Marina spread her hands. “So basically, couldn’t be better!”
“You’re like Superwoman,” said Ronan.
And Clemency smiled because it was true—she was. Alf was Marina’s eighty-six-year-old neighbor. Ben and Amy were the hyperactive three-year-old twins who lived with their exhausted parents across the road from Marina’s whitewashed cottage on Harris Street. Here at the café, whenever Paddy and Dee needed an extra pair of hands to help out, Marina was always the first to volunteer. Basically, if anyone was ever in need of a lift, a favor, or a bit of assistance with an overgrown garden, she was more than happy to oblige. In the five years since she’d moved to St. Carys, she’d forged a place for herself in the heart of the community, and her love for the little town and its inhabitants had been returned in full.
“Ah well, how else would I keep myself occupied?” Marina deftly retied the turquoise ribbon that held her auburn hennaed curls away from her face. “Sit and twiddle my thumbs? Anyway, I only do what I want to do. If someone needs a hand with something, it’s nice to be able to help out.”
“There’s such a thing as too nice, though.” Ronan shook his head at her. “Don’t go letting people take advantage.”
“Don’t worry, I’m not a complete pushover.” Her amber eyes sparkled. “I’m a better judge of character now than I used to be, thank God!”
She waved good-bye and left the café. Moments later, they watched as she greeted one of the local hoteliers before crouching down to ruffle the ears of his boisterous, waggy-tailed beagle.
“She’s probably offering to knit the dog a coat,” Ronan observed.
“Seriously, though, why do bad things happen to good people? Whatever happened to karma?”
“Maybe she’s not good. Maybe she’s actually a secret agent, a sinister assassin masquerading as a lovable artist.”
Clemency shook her head. “God, her husband must have been such a bastard to do what he did.”


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Review Post: Fool Me Once by Catherine Bybee

Rating/Review: ☕☕☕☕ 1/2 (4.5 cups, this romantic suspense will give new meaning to The First Wives Club)
You never know what you really would be getting when reading a Catherine Bybee book.  On the outside, each book can definitely hold its own as a great contemporary romance novel.  Read a little bit further, you get well-defined, multilayered characters and a romantic suspense in the making. Pretty soon you will be amazed on the intricate storyline balanced well with the main characters developing romance.  Fool Me Once is definitely a Catherine Bybee book.  The first in her new series, First Wives,  Fool Me Once is also a spinoff from her popular Weekday Bride series.  And yet again, Ms. Bybee delivers in her great characters, well thought out plot and melding her two series together without one overpowering the other.
The story starts out as the head of Alliance and their legal go to person, Lori try to help one of their client who unexpectedly lost her husband.  To get her away …

Spotlight Tour: A Sky Full of Stars by Samantha Chase

The stars are about to align in the newest Shaughnessy brothers romance!
WHEN WORLDS COLLIDE Brilliant astrophysicist Dr. Owen Shaughnessy feels more connected to the cosmos than to people. He’s great with calculations, but when he leads a team of scientists to study a famous meteor shower, he doesn’t factor in his free-spirited artist assistant Brooke Matthews.
LOVE CAN DAZZLE YOU Polar opposites in personality, the friction between them threatens to derail the project. But the beauty and mystery of the night sky draw Owen and Brooke together—and she’s going to surprise him in ways the stars never could.

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2pnLztB B&N: http://bit.ly/2rQcJbH iBooks: http://apple.co/2pnzwfN



EXCERPT:

“That was…interesting.” “I never thought I’d see those two mediums used together.” “I may have to stab my own eyes out to make sure I never see it again,” Brooke said and then shuddered. They had just left the art gallery, and she waited until they were at the corner before looking at Owen. “I…

Review & Excerpt Tour: My Fair Duchess:Dukes Behaving Badly by Megan Frampton

An unexpected duchess proves that behaving  badly isn't exclusive to the Dukedom.

MY FAIR DUCHESS Dukes Behaving Badly #5 Megan Frampton Releasing Feb 28, 2017 Avon Books

In Megan Frampton's most recent installment of The Dukes Behaving Badly series, an unexpected duchess proves that behaving badly isn't exclusive to the Dukedom.
The Unexpected Duchess
Archibald Salisbury, son of a viscount, war hero, and proficient in the proper ways of aristocratic society, has received orders for his most challenging mission: Genevieve, Duchess of Blakesley. How she inherited a duchy isn’t his problem. Turning her into a perfect duchess is. But how can he keep his mind on business when her beauty entices him toward pleasure?
It was impossible, unprecedented…and undeniably true. Genevieve is now a “duke”, or, rather, a duchess. So what is she to do when the ton eyes her every move, hoping she’ll make a mistake? Genevieve knows she has brains and has sometimes been told she has beauty, but, out of …