Skip to main content


Showing posts from May, 2013

Alison Goodman's Eon Book 1 and Eona (Book 2) The Dragoneye Series

Sixteen-year-old Eon has a dream, and a mission. For years, he's been studying sword-work and magic, toward one end. He and his master hope that he will be chosen as a Dragoneye-an apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons of good fortune.
But Eon has a dangerous secret. He is actually Eona, a sixteen-year-old girl who has been masquerading as a twelve-year-old boy. Females are forbidden to use Dragon Magic; if anyone discovers she has been hiding in plain sight, her death is assured.
When Eon's secret threatens to come to light, she and her allies are plunged into grave danger and a deadly struggle for the Imperial throne. Eon must find the strength and inner power to battle those who want to take her magic...and her life.(Goodreads) Once she was Eon, a girl disguised as a boy, risking her life for the chance to become a Dragoneye apprentice. Now she is Eona, the Mirror Dragoneye, her country's savior - but she has an even more dangerous secret. She cannot control her p…

The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa (Iron Fey Series)

Don't look at Them. Never let Them know you can see Them. That is Ethan Chase's unbreakable rule. Until the fey he avoids at all costs—including his reputation—begin to disappear, and Ethan is attacked. Now he must change the rules to protect his family. To save a girl he never thought he'd dare to fall for. Ethan thought he had protected himself from his older sister's world—the land of Faery. His previous time in the Iron Realm left him with nothing but fear and disgust for the world Meghan Chase has made her home, a land of myth and talking cats, of magic and seductive enemies. But when destiny comes for Ethan, there is no escape from a danger long, long forgotten.

The Gryphon: In Which the Extraordinary Correspondence of Griffin & Sabine Is Rediscovered by Nick Bantock: Book One of Morning Star Trilogy

There are books that feel like we stumbled upon a bundle of letters while rummaging an old dusty trunk forgotten in the attic and when you start to touch those mementos, images would parade out before your eyes, unbidden and lingering. This is one of them.

The first of the Morning Star Trilogy, The Gryphon follows the beloved Griffin & Sabine Trilogyan intriguing tale and mystery about balance and harmony and strange forces in the universe, and what happened to the fates of Griffin Moss and Sabine Strohem. We are now introduced to the lovers Matthew, a young archaeologist working in Egypt and Isabella, a student in Paris; and their story starts when Matthew receives a mysterious postcard from a stranger living in Paolo who claims acquaintance. At about the same time, Isabella is also visited by unexplained visions of mythic landscapes and surreal creatures. From their long distance correspondence, another secret enchanting world is slowly revealed to them, pressing into the rea…

Balthazar by Claudia Gray: Book 5 Evernight Series

For hundreds of years, the vampire Balthazar has been alone--without allies, without love.
When Balthazar agrees to help Skye Tierney, a human girl who once attended Evernight Academy, he has no idea how dangerous it will be. Skye's newfound psychic powers have caught the attention of Redgrave, the cruel, seductive master vampire responsible for murdering Balthazar and his family four centuries ago. Now Redgrave plans to use Skye's powers for his own evil purposes.Balthazar will do whatever it takes to stop Redgrave and exact his long-awaited revenge against his killer. As Skye and Balthazar stand together to fight him, they grow closer--first unwillingly, then undeniably. Balthazar realizes his lonely world could finally be changed by her. . . .In a story filled with forbidden love and dark suspense, one of the most beloved characters in Claudia Gray's New York Times bestselling Evernight series will captivate readers with his battle to overcome his past and follow his hea…

Tumbling Fates: Fortune's Rocks by Anita Shreve

"In the time it takes for her to walk from the bathhouse at the seawall of Fortune's Rocks, where she has left her boots and has discreetly pulled off her stockings, to the waterline along which the sea continually licks the pink and silver sand, she learns about desire." Thus Olympia's story unfolds on that summer in the turn of the twentieth century at a New Hampshire coast where a prominent Boston family is spending the warm season and a spirited young woman falls into a passionate, illicit affair with an older man, with cataclysmic results.