Skip to main content

Quick Review: The Trouble with Love (Sex, Love & Stiletto #4) by Lauren Layne

The Trouble with Love  (Sex, Love & Stiletto, #4)
Title: The Trouble with Love (Sex, Love & Stiletto #4)

Author: Lauren Layne
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Published: March 3, 2015
Rating:  ♨♨♨♨ 1/2 (4.5 of 5 cups)
Review:
Fans of Lauren Layne's Sex, Love & Stiletto series have waited with baited breath for Emma and Alex's story. Ever since Emma was introduced as part of the Stiletto gang/group readers have been intrigued about what happened between her and Alex Cassidy. Well, The Trouble with Love has definitely made every second of anticipation so worth it. Everyone knows that Emma and Alex used to be engaged but only the two of them know what really went wrong in their relationship. Now everything is starting to rip open as Emma is given an assignment to write about her exes. In a way its an underhanded move by Alex acting as her interim editor in chief to get on her nerves. But is it really worth to know that Emma really has moved past their failed wedding. For Emma finding out from her exes that while she did the dumping the emotions were definitely one sided and that they seemed to all know one thing, her walls have never really gone down and probably never will for them anyway. When Alex and Emma decide to put the past behind for just awhile at their good friends wedding, they revisit their good memories and learn once again what they truly gave up. But is it enough to trust the same feelings that broke them in the first place. Lauren Layne has definitely given justice to these two cynical romantics' second chance at love with all the whimsy, humor and poignant emotions that made the Sex, Love & Stiletto series an all time favorite for contemporary romance readers. Looking forward to the next book.

Synopsis:
As Lauren Layne’s salacious Sex, Love & Stiletto series returns, a jaded columnist discovers a steamy way to get over an old flame: falling for him all over again.
 
As Stiletto magazine’s authority on all things breakup-and-heartache, Emma Sinclair writes from personal experience. Five years ago, Emma was Charlotte, North Carolina’s darling debutante and a blushing bride-to-be. Now she’s the ice queen of the Manhattan dating scene. Emma left her sultry Southern drawl behind, but not even her closest friends know that with it she left her heart. Now Emma’s latest article forces her to face her demons—namely, the devilishly sexy guy who ditched her at the altar. 
 
After giving up everything for a pro-soccer career, Alex Cassidy watches his dreams crumble as a knee injury sidelines him for good. Now he’s hanging up his cleats and giving journalism a shot. It’s just a coincidence that he happens to pick a job in the same field, and the same city, as his former fiancĂ©e . . . right? But when Emma moves in next door, it’s no accident. It’s research. And Alex can’t help wondering what might have been. Unlike the innocent girl he remembers, this Emma is chic, sophisticated, and assertive—and she wants absolutely nothing to do with him. The trouble is, Alex has never wanted her more.
 




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Review Post: Fool Me Once by Catherine Bybee

Rating/Review: ☕☕☕☕ 1/2 (4.5 cups, this romantic suspense will give new meaning to The First Wives Club)
You never know what you really would be getting when reading a Catherine Bybee book.  On the outside, each book can definitely hold its own as a great contemporary romance novel.  Read a little bit further, you get well-defined, multilayered characters and a romantic suspense in the making. Pretty soon you will be amazed on the intricate storyline balanced well with the main characters developing romance.  Fool Me Once is definitely a Catherine Bybee book.  The first in her new series, First Wives,  Fool Me Once is also a spinoff from her popular Weekday Bride series.  And yet again, Ms. Bybee delivers in her great characters, well thought out plot and melding her two series together without one overpowering the other.
The story starts out as the head of Alliance and their legal go to person, Lori try to help one of their client who unexpectedly lost her husband.  To get her away …

Spotlight Tour: A Sky Full of Stars by Samantha Chase

The stars are about to align in the newest Shaughnessy brothers romance!
WHEN WORLDS COLLIDE Brilliant astrophysicist Dr. Owen Shaughnessy feels more connected to the cosmos than to people. He’s great with calculations, but when he leads a team of scientists to study a famous meteor shower, he doesn’t factor in his free-spirited artist assistant Brooke Matthews.
LOVE CAN DAZZLE YOU Polar opposites in personality, the friction between them threatens to derail the project. But the beauty and mystery of the night sky draw Owen and Brooke together—and she’s going to surprise him in ways the stars never could.

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2pnLztB B&N: http://bit.ly/2rQcJbH iBooks: http://apple.co/2pnzwfN



EXCERPT:

“That was…interesting.” “I never thought I’d see those two mediums used together.” “I may have to stab my own eyes out to make sure I never see it again,” Brooke said and then shuddered. They had just left the art gallery, and she waited until they were at the corner before looking at Owen. “I…

Review & Excerpt Tour: My Fair Duchess:Dukes Behaving Badly by Megan Frampton

An unexpected duchess proves that behaving  badly isn't exclusive to the Dukedom.

MY FAIR DUCHESS Dukes Behaving Badly #5 Megan Frampton Releasing Feb 28, 2017 Avon Books

In Megan Frampton's most recent installment of The Dukes Behaving Badly series, an unexpected duchess proves that behaving badly isn't exclusive to the Dukedom.
The Unexpected Duchess
Archibald Salisbury, son of a viscount, war hero, and proficient in the proper ways of aristocratic society, has received orders for his most challenging mission: Genevieve, Duchess of Blakesley. How she inherited a duchy isn’t his problem. Turning her into a perfect duchess is. But how can he keep his mind on business when her beauty entices him toward pleasure?
It was impossible, unprecedented…and undeniably true. Genevieve is now a “duke”, or, rather, a duchess. So what is she to do when the ton eyes her every move, hoping she’ll make a mistake? Genevieve knows she has brains and has sometimes been told she has beauty, but, out of …