Skip to main content

Doll-baby by Laura Lane McNeal


Doll-baby portrays New Orleans at a time of the Civil Rights Movement in the summer of 1964 through the eyes of a twelve-year-old, Liberty Bell. 

After the death of her father, Liberty was unceremoniously left in the care of her grandmother she had not met who lives in an old Queen Anne Victorian house with black servants. Coming from the Northwest Coast, Liberty has not seen such eccentricities like the ways of the South or her grandmother, Fannie, who sometimes gets admitted to an asylum.

Quennie, Fannie’s black cook, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Doll-baby, take to Liberty like family and introduce her to the traditions of the South along with old secrets that abound the old house in Prytania Street. In this debut novel, Liberty is confronted with her painful past, her difficult relationship with her mother, the strangeness of Fannie’s house where his father grew up and a new city on the brink of a revolution.

Laura Lane McNeal presented to me a New Orleans in another kind of light, not from generations of an old family’s saga or a stranger moving next door but through the eyes of a confused and impressionable teen just coming into her own. The quirks of the old city with its faded grandness and odd characters are juxtaposed with the gritty and simmering unrest which, undeniably and ultimately, is the core of the Southern ways.

The characters grow with you over time even the erratic ones like the old lady on roller skates. They have their charms, but for me, Quennie, and her family as well, is the heart of the book on top of being the best character in there. She just won me over with her big heart and endless patience. And apart from the turnout of Liberty’s mother, I was moved at how everything else came to end.

With contained poignancy and yet brimming with realness, Lane’s debut novel was an engaging read and I loved every minute of it.

Summary

When Ibby Bell’s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father’s urn for good measure. Fannie’s New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been—and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum—is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie’s black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.

For Fannie’s own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby’s arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby’s hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.

For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.

By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.

Title: Doll-baby
Author: Laura Lane McNeal
Genre: Young Adult, American Southern Literature, Coming of Age
Published: July 2014
Publisher: Viking Adult (Kindle)
Rating: ♨♨♨♨♨ (5 cups - Lane's portrayal of New Orleans is at once riveting and bittersweet.)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Release Day: Bohemian by Kathryn Nolan

RATING/REVIEW: ☕☕☕☕ (4 cups of soothing, slow burn romance!)
Bohemian is a modern day love story about two very different people whose common love for the written word brings them together and in the end may drive them apart.  Lucia and Calvin never would have met in the same place except for the presence of The Mad Ones, an old fashioned bookstore found in the beautiful area of Big Sur.  Lucia is a supermodel, at the age of 26 what use to thrill her has been leaving her bored almost.  When a scheduled shoot in an old fashioned bookstore suddenly fans the flames of her love of reading she starts yearning for more.  Calvin inherited The Mad Ones from his beloved grandfather.  His grandfather's love of reading and his lifestyle has always brought joy to a young Calvin but he never really subscribed to that way of life.  When he meets Lucia he might have been starstruck for a bit.  What does a geeky nerd like him have in common with a beautiful woman like her.  When he finds out they …

Blog Tour: Ride With Me by Ashley Hastings: Review plus Giveaway!

RIDE WITH ME by Ashley HastingsPublication Date: April 5, 2018 Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Rating/Review: ☕☕☕ 1/2 (3.5 cups of funny and sweet but sexy romance) Ride with Me pairs up a sexy cop and a sweet nerdy but adorable grad student who spend their time getting to know each other through a ridealong.  But first they had the most unique meet cute involving car chases!  Who can beat that?!  Lucy and Grayson may not appear to be compatible but in Ride with Me they definitely hit the right notes together. Sweet, short and funny, Ride with Me is a lighthearted read that would put a smile in any romance readers face.

BUY NOW!Amazon: https://amzn.to/2Jq6nsq(#FREE with #KindleUnlimited) Paperback: https://amzn.to/2EpsefW


SYNOPSIS:A bad boy cop and a straight-laced student are about to go on the ride of their lives… He’s the law, but she’s the one making the rules. Graduate student Lucy wants order and predictability in her life. She always has a list to consult and a plan to execute. Poli…

Review Post: Fool Me Once by Catherine Bybee

Rating/Review: ☕☕☕☕ 1/2 (4.5 cups, this romantic suspense will give new meaning to The First Wives Club)
You never know what you really would be getting when reading a Catherine Bybee book.  On the outside, each book can definitely hold its own as a great contemporary romance novel.  Read a little bit further, you get well-defined, multilayered characters and a romantic suspense in the making. Pretty soon you will be amazed on the intricate storyline balanced well with the main characters developing romance.  Fool Me Once is definitely a Catherine Bybee book.  The first in her new series, First Wives,  Fool Me Once is also a spinoff from her popular Weekday Bride series.  And yet again, Ms. Bybee delivers in her great characters, well thought out plot and melding her two series together without one overpowering the other.
The story starts out as the head of Alliance and their legal go to person, Lori try to help one of their client who unexpectedly lost her husband.  To get her away …