Skip to main content

Longbourn by Jo Baker



If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah often thought, she’d most likely be a sight more careful with them.

In this irresistibly imagined below stairs answer to Pride and Prejudice, the servants take center stage. Sarah, the orphaned housemaid, spends her days scrubbing the laundry, polishing the floors, and emptying the chamber pots for the Bennet household. But there is just as much romance, heartbreak, and intrigue downstairs at Longbourn as there is upstairs. When a mysterious new footman arrives, the orderly realm of the servants’ hall threatens to be completely, perhaps irrevocably, upended. 


Jo Baker's Longbourn is sort of Pride and Prejudice meets Downton Abbey, a retelling of our favorite Jane Austen novel but in the point of view of those who are living downstairs - the servants.

We are introduced to the hardworking Mrs. Hill, her husband Mr. Hill, the young maid Polly though the story focuses on the orphaned maid Sarah and the new mysterious footman James.

Sarah wants do live her life more than her everyday chores of washing petticoats or cleaning kettles and suddenly life at Longbourn becomes different when James is newly hired by Mr. Bennett to become the household's footman. Sarah is convinced that James has a dark secret and she does everything to find out what it is, but is distracted by the dashing Ptolemy, who is the footman of the Bingley's.

Jo Baker didn't emulate Jane Austen's writing style - hers is more of a modern and straightforward of storytelling. The characters that were just in the background are given their own story and personalities. Longbourn also gave us more of P&P's supporting characters, such as Mr. Collins and Mary.

Baker vividly depicts the life of the lower class back in the regency era. Sarah and James' romance was a parallel to Lizzie and Darcy's love story so it became predictable.

I recommend this novel to those who love novels set in the Regency era - Jo Baker has done a good job of giving life to the characters that were originally in the background. Fans of Jane Austen & Downton Abbey should also give this novel a try :)

Title: Longbourn
Author: Jo Baker
Genre: Regency novel, romance
Published: October 2013
Publisher: Knopf
Rating: ♨♨♨♨ 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Review Post: Fool Me Once by Catherine Bybee

Rating/Review: ☕☕☕☕ 1/2 (4.5 cups, this romantic suspense will give new meaning to The First Wives Club)
You never know what you really would be getting when reading a Catherine Bybee book.  On the outside, each book can definitely hold its own as a great contemporary romance novel.  Read a little bit further, you get well-defined, multilayered characters and a romantic suspense in the making. Pretty soon you will be amazed on the intricate storyline balanced well with the main characters developing romance.  Fool Me Once is definitely a Catherine Bybee book.  The first in her new series, First Wives,  Fool Me Once is also a spinoff from her popular Weekday Bride series.  And yet again, Ms. Bybee delivers in her great characters, well thought out plot and melding her two series together without one overpowering the other.
The story starts out as the head of Alliance and their legal go to person, Lori try to help one of their client who unexpectedly lost her husband.  To get her away …

Spotlight Tour: A Sky Full of Stars by Samantha Chase

The stars are about to align in the newest Shaughnessy brothers romance!
WHEN WORLDS COLLIDE Brilliant astrophysicist Dr. Owen Shaughnessy feels more connected to the cosmos than to people. He’s great with calculations, but when he leads a team of scientists to study a famous meteor shower, he doesn’t factor in his free-spirited artist assistant Brooke Matthews.
LOVE CAN DAZZLE YOU Polar opposites in personality, the friction between them threatens to derail the project. But the beauty and mystery of the night sky draw Owen and Brooke together—and she’s going to surprise him in ways the stars never could.

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2pnLztB B&N: http://bit.ly/2rQcJbH iBooks: http://apple.co/2pnzwfN



EXCERPT:

“That was…interesting.” “I never thought I’d see those two mediums used together.” “I may have to stab my own eyes out to make sure I never see it again,” Brooke said and then shuddered. They had just left the art gallery, and she waited until they were at the corner before looking at Owen. “I…

Review & Excerpt Tour: My Fair Duchess:Dukes Behaving Badly by Megan Frampton

An unexpected duchess proves that behaving  badly isn't exclusive to the Dukedom.

MY FAIR DUCHESS Dukes Behaving Badly #5 Megan Frampton Releasing Feb 28, 2017 Avon Books

In Megan Frampton's most recent installment of The Dukes Behaving Badly series, an unexpected duchess proves that behaving badly isn't exclusive to the Dukedom.
The Unexpected Duchess
Archibald Salisbury, son of a viscount, war hero, and proficient in the proper ways of aristocratic society, has received orders for his most challenging mission: Genevieve, Duchess of Blakesley. How she inherited a duchy isn’t his problem. Turning her into a perfect duchess is. But how can he keep his mind on business when her beauty entices him toward pleasure?
It was impossible, unprecedented…and undeniably true. Genevieve is now a “duke”, or, rather, a duchess. So what is she to do when the ton eyes her every move, hoping she’ll make a mistake? Genevieve knows she has brains and has sometimes been told she has beauty, but, out of …