Short Reviews: Paranormal Romance Series

This is a short review of some of the long running and ongoing paranormal romantic series I have been reading. Each of the books for each series can't really be read as stand alone so I decided to review them collectively.

1. The Dark Carpathian Series by Christine Feehan

Christine Feehan's series Dark Carpathians is about a powerful and immortal race, blood drinkers with abilities that range from shape-shifting to superhuman strength. They can blend in among humans and has never killed any unnecessarily while drinking blood.  The main plot is romantic, male Carpathians must find their lifemates as soon as possible to prevent them from losing their emotions and their seeing in color.  As their population dwindles, with fewer Carpathians born and just a handful of females per generation, the males must decide to end their existence or fall prey to becoming vampires.  Vampires are considered monsters who kill humans and consider Carpathians as weak.  The series started with Dark Prince (2009), the story of Mikhail and Raven, which was a pretty straightforward romance. 

As the series continued, the world building became more elaborate and there was more subplots.  The attention to detail was amazing.   The Carpathian Mountains of which the series was mainly located is real and is found in Romania.  To date there are 27 books, the last three (a trilogy within the series) will soon be released.  As far as paranormal series goes this is really good.  The male leads can range from extremely alpha to the gentle, brooding ones.  The female main characters from healers, scientists and gentle nurturers to strong warriors.   As the series grew, so did the world building becoming more complex and engaging.  

Title: Dark Carpathian Series, currently 27 books
Author: Christine Feehan
Genre: Paranormal Romance
First Book Published: July 2009
Rating: I give the series ♨♨♨♨ (Initially a romance with paranormal elements, its quickly turned into a paranormal book with romantic elements.  Unique characters, intriguing mysteries, detailed world building and of course sensual and passionate romances.)

2. The Black Dagger Brotherhood by JR Ward

Who hasn't heard of J.R Wards Black Dagger Brotherhood Series?  The first book published was Dark Lover (2005) and was mainly a paranormal romance about Wrath and Beth.  Wrath was the king of a vampire-like race who existed among humans and belonged to the elite group called The Black Dagger Brotherhood.  These warriors protect their own from the Lessers, humans whose souls where removed and follow orders from an immortal being called the Omega.  From the first book, the series had evolved to become a more paranormal story line with romantic elements rather than a full romance. They have also become contiguous rather than stand alone.  BDB (as it is more widely known) is addicting. J.R Ward has created a world that is set in modern times and in a very normal place as Caldwell, New York.  Each of the book focuses on one romantic pair, but also deals with each characters personal problems aside from its action packed subplots.  Its contemporary but as paranormal as you can get, the series has currently 11 books out with a 12th one soon to be released.  

Title of the Series: The Black Dagger Brotherhood (12 books)
Author: J.R. Ward
Genre: Paranormal Romance
First Book Published: 2005
Rating: ♨♨♨♨ (Its addicting! Although favorite books among the series happens, you can't keep skip one for fear of missing out on something. It has everything for everyone. The language used in the dialogues however tend to sometimes confuse the readers with its almost gangsta' style lingo)

3. The Demonica/Lords of Deliverance Series by Larissa Ione

Pleasure Unbound, introduced us to the world of Underground General, a hospital for demons and the start of the Demonica Series written by Larissa Ione.  From the start this series kicked off as more action packed thriller rather than romantic.  It dealt with  Eidolon and Tayla , their undeniable chemistry, physical attraction and oh yes, the need to kill each other.  For Eidolon and Tayla worked for differing sides or so it seems.  This is a fast paced and fun ride, humor mixed with drama, with passionate and extremely sizzling scenes.  The characters are more than interesting, the world building was slowly being introduced to the readers but was definitely complex. You had vampires, werewolves, demons and oh yes fallen angels.  Everything was in here and Larissa Ione has done a really great job of keeping it straight and the readers on their toes.  The romantic pairings sizzled with chemistry.  The series is driven by the action-filled plot and the mysteries yet to be revealed. There is currently 10 books (including the spin off books still connected with the main series).  The 10th book, Reaver, is due out soon and will end a major plot point running in the series (hopefully).

Title of the Series: The Demonica/Lords of Deliverance Series
Author: Larissa Ione
Genre: Paranormal Romance
First Book Published: July 2008
Rating:  ♨♨♨♨♨ (Thoroughly enjoyed each of the books in this series, filled with strong heroes and equally strong heroines the series continuously surprises the readers, anticipating each secret revealed and what else could happen.  Larissa Ione's work is captivating. Thrilling plot lines keeps the readers attention engaged and asking for more.)

*second part will follow*