Skip to main content

Get The Fever: Karen Marie Moning's Fever Series

By now most who follow the paranormal genre, romantic or otherwise, have gotten "The Fever" since Ms. Karen Marie Moning first released DarkFever, her first book in a 5 book series.  DarkFever introduces us to MacKayla Lane, a beautiful blonde Southern gal in her twenties, who has a really good life, a loving home with wonderful indulging parents and an older sister who she adores.  But this all changes when she gets  a phone call from Dublin telling her that her sister was dead.   Convinced that her sister's mysterious death was not properly being investigated, she travels to Dublin, Ireland to find out what happened.  From there the story starts getting more interesting. 

Mac starts trying to piece the events together but nothing seemed to make sense.  She's also been seeing things that no one else sees, monsters and sinister shadows and places that people unconsciously avoid.  In DarkFever we are also introduce to Barrons' Books and Baubles and its enigmatic and dangerous owner, Jerricho Barrons.  The BB&B would be Mac's unofficial command central and Barrons, well he would be the designated Giles to her Buffy.  Just a more sinister and cold blooded one at that.  But he is a hottie!  By the end of DarkFever I was hooked, the next books Blood Fever, Fae Fever and Dream Fever we see how Mac has progressed as a heroine.  She discovers facts about her existence, her destiny and yes since this has romantic elements, her feelings about Barrons. ShadowFever is the culmination with a satisfactory ending.

So what makes these books so different then since the plot sounds simple enough.  There is no way I can adequately describe why the series is so addicting.  It could be because MacKayla (call her Mac) Lane's character is so easy to like and her growth to becoming this kickass heroine is worth the read.  While reading DarkFever, all I could think of was that she reminds me of a Buffy when she just started training as the vampire slayer and Elle (Legally Blonde) with her love of pink and her determination to get it right even though most people thought she wouldn't be able to do it.

This series is dark with scenes that are heartwrenching and sometimes really difficult to read.  But between those are the lighthearted ones that tends to humanize all the characters, yes including the bad guys.  

Ms. Moning has done this wonderful job of creating a world filled with characters that seem too real in a landscape that you can easily envision and believe.  No review or even summary can do justice to what she has built in terms of characters or even the world she has created.

The five books of DarkFever, BloodFever, FaeFever, DreamFever and ShadowFever are complete in itself.  The major conflicts are resolved by the end and Mac gets a sort of happy ending.  However the world building is so good with secondary characters that are memorable as well that the series is being planned to continue.  This doesn't detract from the original five books however.  So if you haven't read the series and you love dark urban fantasy with memorable characters then do so now.  You won't regret getting The Fever.

Title: The Fever Series:
             Darkfever, Bloodfever, Faefever, Dreamfever, Shadowfever
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Published: 2006-2011

Rating: ♨♨♨♨♨ ( 5 cups)- I can marry these books!  Mostly its the main character of Mac and Barrons that made these books for me a definite read.  The secondary characters and world building is a great plus too.


Popular posts from this blog

Review Post: Fool Me Once by Catherine Bybee

Rating/Review: ☕☕☕☕ 1/2 (4.5 cups, this romantic suspense will give new meaning to The First Wives Club)
You never know what you really would be getting when reading a Catherine Bybee book.  On the outside, each book can definitely hold its own as a great contemporary romance novel.  Read a little bit further, you get well-defined, multilayered characters and a romantic suspense in the making. Pretty soon you will be amazed on the intricate storyline balanced well with the main characters developing romance.  Fool Me Once is definitely a Catherine Bybee book.  The first in her new series, First Wives,  Fool Me Once is also a spinoff from her popular Weekday Bride series.  And yet again, Ms. Bybee delivers in her great characters, well thought out plot and melding her two series together without one overpowering the other.
The story starts out as the head of Alliance and their legal go to person, Lori try to help one of their client who unexpectedly lost her husband.  To get her away …

Spotlight Tour: A Sky Full of Stars by Samantha Chase

The stars are about to align in the newest Shaughnessy brothers romance!
WHEN WORLDS COLLIDE Brilliant astrophysicist Dr. Owen Shaughnessy feels more connected to the cosmos than to people. He’s great with calculations, but when he leads a team of scientists to study a famous meteor shower, he doesn’t factor in his free-spirited artist assistant Brooke Matthews.
LOVE CAN DAZZLE YOU Polar opposites in personality, the friction between them threatens to derail the project. But the beauty and mystery of the night sky draw Owen and Brooke together—and she’s going to surprise him in ways the stars never could.

Amazon: B&N: iBooks:


“That was…interesting.” “I never thought I’d see those two mediums used together.” “I may have to stab my own eyes out to make sure I never see it again,” Brooke said and then shuddered. They had just left the art gallery, and she waited until they were at the corner before looking at Owen. “I…

Review & Excerpt Tour: My Fair Duchess:Dukes Behaving Badly by Megan Frampton

An unexpected duchess proves that behaving  badly isn't exclusive to the Dukedom.

MY FAIR DUCHESS Dukes Behaving Badly #5 Megan Frampton Releasing Feb 28, 2017 Avon Books

In Megan Frampton's most recent installment of The Dukes Behaving Badly series, an unexpected duchess proves that behaving badly isn't exclusive to the Dukedom.
The Unexpected Duchess
Archibald Salisbury, son of a viscount, war hero, and proficient in the proper ways of aristocratic society, has received orders for his most challenging mission: Genevieve, Duchess of Blakesley. How she inherited a duchy isn’t his problem. Turning her into a perfect duchess is. But how can he keep his mind on business when her beauty entices him toward pleasure?
It was impossible, unprecedented…and undeniably true. Genevieve is now a “duke”, or, rather, a duchess. So what is she to do when the ton eyes her every move, hoping she’ll make a mistake? Genevieve knows she has brains and has sometimes been told she has beauty, but, out of …